Last summer I heard a story about a woman whose fiance’s ex-wife was following her on Pinterest. As the woman pinned things to help her plan her wedding the ex-wife would repin them. Needless to say, the woman was frustrated by this but there was nothing she could do. Last summer there was no way to block users from following you or seeing your pins.
That has changed. Pinterest recently implemented the block user option. This allows you to block specific people from following your account and repining your pins. The story of the bride-to-be isn’t an isolated story, I’ve heard of many others wanting to block others from their account too. Cheers to Pinterest for listening to their users!
How to Block Someone on Pinterest
From the users main profile page you will see a small flag in the bottom right corner of the profile description box. When you hover over it, the flag will turn red and a drop-down list will appear. The option to block them is at the very bottom of the list.
This is also where you can report a user for misusing Pinterest or pinning inappropriate content. According to the Pinterest official blog, the Pinterest community will be notified when an account has been reported and will review the account.
Blocking does not have to be permanent. If you go back to an account that has been perviously blocked you will find an unblock option.
For more information you can visit the Pinterest support page here.
What feature would you like to see Pinterest implement next?
Cynthia Sanchez is a Pinterest marketing consultant and expert. Cynthia created OhSoPinteresting.com, one of the early leaders in Pinterest education for businesses. Contact Cynthia on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/cynthiasanchezrnbsn